So yesterday, I took a little break from the hustle and  bustle of the city (awesome as it is) and joined my friend and fellow Kerrycrat, Mary Beth, on a day trip to Assenteague Island National Seashore (with the famous wild horses that inspired the Misty book series), near the very charming little town of Berlin, Maryland. It was quite the drive–a little over three hours in each direction–but I personally love a good road trip and the drive was fantastically beautiful! Plus it was so great, hanging out with Mary Beth, who I first met during my time in the Boston area last year but who is also now in DC (she came out to the Boston area from Arizona too–what are the odds?? :)).

Because I am something of an amateur photographer (or at least a big enthusiast),  the camera on my beloved Blackberry was in full swing the entire day. The photos tell the story best, I think. Maryland is gorgeous! It reminds me a lot scenically of Massachusetts, but has its own unique beauty, in its own  right:

Annapolis, Maryland, just outside  the famous Naval Academy

  Neat little Irish Kilt shop in the Annapolis town square (where we stopped for breakfast on the way). If I ever marry, that will be my dress! 😉 🙂

  They have a Jimmy John’s in Maryland! Thought it was a U of A thing (it was a popular hang out on campus at my alma matter :))).

Boats in the harbor!

Statue dedicated to the author of Roots in the Annapolis town square

Motorcyclist (Hey Kasey! This make you think of anything? hehe 😉 :)) on highway bridge

Beach house chairs and porch outside Visitors Center at Assenteague

Exhibit at Assenteague-very fitting quote, I think

Wild horses right outside the car!

Horses on beach at Assenteague

  It was so great to put my feet into the ocean again, get sand between my toes..ocean=bliss! 🙂

Bay bridge at Assenteague park

Boat in bay

Calming water scene

More horses!:

Globe Theater Cafe and Restaurant in Berlin, where we stopped for dinner on the way back. Loved the theme and atmosphere!

Beautiful sun set on the drive back, reminded me of home..

I had a truly fantastic time. Thanks again, Mary Beth!

More soon!

Tara

About lattelib

DC Intern, in town this Fall, living the dream in the Hollywood for Politicos! :) This blog will be a virtual diary of my experience. And there will be lots of pics! "I want to be somebody I want to make a difference"..--"Be Somebody", Paula Cole

4 responses »

  1. Kasey Ruble says:

    Tara! Yes, that very well does make me think of something. A very wonderful something 🙂 Your pictures are beautiful!! I love horses! And I would love to see an ocean. Looks like you had a great time! P.S. Are you sure that wasn’t him? *wink wink*

    • lattelib says:

      Thanks, Kasey! Well he’s said that he goes home to Massachusetts on the weekends but you never know..that area was near DC but still far away in it’s own right! 😉

  2. kpcor says:

    Your pictures were great. The island is so beautiful. Glad to hear that you and Mary Beth had a great time!

Leave a Reply

