So my weekend was basically owned by the President and Democratic politics. But I am not complaining..at all. I had a blast! 🙂

On Saturday morning, I went canvassing (basically going door-to-door to homes on the lists of a campaign, talking to voters, passing out campaign literature, etc) for the first time in a year and a half, since my last work for the party in Tucson, Arizona shortly before I moved from there in April of 2010. Canvassing –either for the first time or in my case, for the first time in a while, is a lot like riding a bike or even learning to walk again. You struggle and stress a bit at first but eventually it becomes–cliche as it may sound– like second nature. Not that walking door to do in a hilly, Suburban  Northern Virginian neighborhood with 80 degree humidity and a campaign lit packet the size of a small child was easy, lol…but it was very rewarding, especially when something like 95% of the people who were home and we actually got to talk to where either ‘Strong Democrats’ or leaning towards supporting the Democratic candidates in the State Senate race that is coming up in like three weeks there (What does this have to do with the President, you might be asking? Well Democrats holding    on to the State Senate will be a very important aspect of the President holding onto Virginia and its electoral votes next year (and VA not becoming a Florida 2000 0r Ohio 2004..-a key part of his strategy).

Then yesterday, we had a big canvassing action for the President’s campaign before the big dedication ceremony of the Martin Luther King, Jr Memorial on the National Mall. Candidly speaking, it was a bit hard to get even the folks with Obama shirts, buttons, and similar swag to stop and sign their support for the campaign as most of them were (understandably) preoccupied with moving through the line and getting a decent ‘seat’ (standing position) for the ceremony.  But we ended up getting a very good amount of people to do so and had a lot of fun in the process. And we got to hear Aretha Franklin sing–and the President himself speak–one of his all time best speeches in my opinion and since he is probably the greatest orator of our time, that is saying something!– right afterward. Plus I got a free hat out of it! :):

  The sun was in my eyes, lol

Getting “fired up and ready to go” for the Pre-event Canvass!

 

Aretha Franklin!

 

Crowd chanting “Four more years!” as the President came out to speak!

 

As you can probably tell from the pictures, we didn’t have the greatest ‘seats’ (as we came back in from canvassing just as the event was starting) lol but it was so amazing just to be there!

 

More soon,

Tara

 

About lattelib

DC Intern, in town this Fall, living the dream in the Hollywood for Politicos! :) This blog will be a virtual diary of my experience. And there will be lots of pics! "I want to be somebody I want to make a difference"..--"Be Somebody", Paula Cole

3 responses »

  1. magicpoetry says:

    I’m not nearly a political junkie like you and don’t know too much about the whole progess of how everything works, but still, this was very interesting and I must say I think I’d like to attend something like this myself sometime. 🙂 Glad you had a good time, hun! You will secure the president 4 more years, I’m sure 😉 lol.

    Best of luck! *hugs*

    Oh, and cool new layout! 🙂

    • lattelib says:

      Thanks, hon! 🙂 We would love to have you–let me know when you make it over to DC! hehe. *hugs back* Glad you like the new layout-it was time for a change. lol

  2. magicpoetry says:

    process* I meant to type…

Leave a Reply

