..Next Thursday, I will be attending an event at the White House! (Doesn’t even feel real, typing that let alone saying it aloud..!). I feel incredibly spoiled as I am already going to the holiday party, but my supervisor picked me for it and I quite frankly could not resist! 😉 I was originally supposed to go to the welcoming event for the Korean Prime Minister yesterday morning (Fun fact: I actually considered signing up for this program to teach English in South Korea that I found out about through my department when I was attending the University of Arizona –it was to be one of my back up plans if I didn’t get into law school or another graduate program. Life of course didn’t take me in that direction, or at least not so far, but it’s a fun coincidence to share, I think), but due to an organizational mix up, it didn’t happen. Oh well…I can’t complain. At all! 🙂

DC still rocks. Expensive as all hell if I am to be totally honest (they even charge for a freaking bag at the grocery store! Nothing that’s make or break–a mere five cents lol–but still and the weather is classic East Coast-unpredictable, but  I am making it! I have even managed to conquer my fear of escalators (some of you have already heard the story a million times, but to make it short, I saw an episode of that 90’s TV show, “Rescue 911”, when I was like six, about a little kid who physically got stuck to an escalator going up and tore a portion of his skin out…traumatized me nearly 20 years on!). I’ve found that they are just more efficient, especially in the maze that so often is a typical Metro station in DC and similar areas and can even be fun. Sure beats the stress of running late and going from level to level to find an elevator, only to find that it’s not in service!

More to come soon!

Tara

About lattelib

DC Intern, in town this Fall, living the dream in the Hollywood for Politicos! :) This blog will be a virtual diary of my experience. And there will be lots of pics! "I want to be somebody I want to make a difference"..--"Be Somebody", Paula Cole

2 responses »

  1. magicpoetry says:

    You’re going to the White House twice? Oh God, wanna swap lives for a few weeks? lol. That is sooo awesome, hun! And well deserved considering how dedicated you are. You are SO lucky! Enjoy your time there and take pictures when you can 😉

  2. lattelib says:

    Thanks, hon! I definitely will take pics if allowed! 😉 🙂

    Still pinching myself about this, all this! Thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

