This may be a little redundant for those of you who follow me on Twitter or are friends with me on Facebook, but I thought a neat way to really get this blog off the ground would be to share the pictures I’ve taken, the memories I’ve captured of my DC journey so far.

I should start off by saying that I meant to start this blog much sooner–my original intention was to begin the day after I arrived a few weeks back. But to be honest, I was so wrapped up in the moments, that quicker methods, like Facebook and perhaps especially Twitter, dominated.  The path of least resistance, I suppose, lol  I meant to have dozens of posts by this point!

So I thought a good way to essentially play catch-up would be to post some of the pictorial highlights of my journey so far, with some anecdotes to describe/explain. From this point on, I will do my best to document each event and milestone in as quick an order as possible–I owe that to my readers and to myself as—you (fellow) writers out there will relate, I am sure–it’s really frustrating to have so many ideas in your head and so many plans for them, but not to get them out on paper or in this case, on the screen!

Anyway, enough about my writing process—on with the pics!:

   Spent the first afternoon in the DC area–the day after I landed–eating outside in this lovely park, overlooking the Potomac!

  Capitol Hill on a Quiet Afternoon (When Congress Was Still Out of Session)

This sign, in most all the Metro stations, cracks me up…everytime. :p

Speaking of the Metro–regular passes all have these adorable little guys (or gals..) on them!  Too bad the rates and exitfares aren’t just as cute..ha!

  The little girl (in blue) tossed a penny into the Senate Reflecting Pool–wishing to meet President Obama. “My dream just has to come true..it just HAS to!

  The Newseum was awesome!  My experience there–the weekend before last–deserves a post all it’s own (which I will try to do soon..), but here is a picture of an actual piece of the Berlin Wall that is on display there. Passes are good for two consecutive visits–so going back again before I leave!

Keychain Beanie baby of the First Dog that I got from the Newseum gift shop –who now resides on my purse.

  My little office space –one look at the decor and it should be obvious to anyone who knows me at all how perfectly suited it is for me!

Portraits in the office hallway–again–perfect!

OFA Training Weekend (September 10 and 11)- Materials!

Obama tote bag I got for my birthday and brought with me–fitting!

Senator Kerry at the First Super Committee Hearing-September 8, 2011

Senator Kerry at the Second Super Committee Hearing-September 13, 2011 (Both hearings also deserving of their own post, which they will get soon!)

Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis at DNC Breakfast–we (my fellow interns and I) got to briefly meet her afterward. She is so nice, very down to earth!

  We  also got to meet Congresswoman and DNC Chair Debbie Wasserman-Schultz, who was also very nice and down to earth-and took a picture with all of us! See if you can spot me.:)

..And that’s just the beginning! Stay tuned. 😉

About lattelib

DC Intern, in town this Fall, living the dream in the Hollywood for Politicos! :) This blog will be a virtual diary of my experience. And there will be lots of pics! "I want to be somebody I want to make a difference"..--"Be Somebody", Paula Cole

Leave a Reply

