Hey everyone,

 

 

Hello and welcome to what I at least hope will be both a written and visual documentation of my experience in America’s capitol city this fall, working as an intern for the Democratic National Committee/Obama for America.

For as long as I can remember, coming to DC and getting this sort of experience in the political field has been a dream of mine. I have been interested in and have paid attention to the world of politics since I was a child. I can remember watching C-Span when I was all of 10 years old. (Having   a family full of political junkies didn’t hurt :)). But my passion for politics really began in the 2004 election cycle. It was the first election cycle in which I was old enough to vote. I became a supporter relatively early on of Massachusetts Senator and eventual Democratic Presidential Nominee, John Kerry. I can still specifically remember seeing him speak at the Harkin Barbecue on C-span sometime in the Fall of 2003 (when I was 17). I still recall the green sweater he had on and the joke he told. He often gets branded as “wooden”, “unfunny”, “boring”, etc, etc….but even then, at that early stage, I did not see that. I saw him instead as someone funny, engaging, intelligent, articulate, and most of all, RIGHT on the issues. From that point on, I began following his campaign and though I was not old enough at that point to vote in the primary, I was delighted to see him eventually gain the nomination. Though I lived in a sickeningly pro-Bush district in Arizona at that  point in time, I vouched for Kerry and his candidacy both online and at school (you can imagine the reactions I tended to get in such a district). I was heartbroken when he didn’t become President. but proud of the campaign he ran and continued to support and be inspired by him. I still proudly consider myself a “Kerrycrat”.  I have many more experience stories and anecdotes to share about the Senator and my activities as a “Kerrycrat”, which will play a role in this blog as well.

In early 2008,  shortly after history making victory in the Iowa caucus, I became inspired to support Senator and eventual President of the United States, Barack Obama. I was in my second year at the University of Arizona in Tucson at that point in time and volunteered for the local division of the Obama campaign, starting in the primary season. Though Arizona ended up going to Hillary Clinton on “Super Tuesday” , it was both an honor and a thrill to work for him on that level. I continued to volunteer during the  General Election phase, which he of course won resoundingly. 😀

In Fall of this year, the opportunity came up to come to Washington, DC,  for an internship with the DNC. I did not know before I came here which department I’d be assigned to. Though I was more than happy to be involved, officially, with the party on any level, I was elated to be assigned to OFA, to be able to play a more hand’s on role in the upcoming Presidential Election. I personally feel that the President not only should, but needs, for the sake of the  quality of the future of this country, for so many reasons to be re-elected. So much depends on that and while his, like any Presidency, has not been perfect, he has achieved so much against the tide of incredible adversity from the other side of the aisle and arguably, much of our Mass Media.              I am both honored and overwhelmed to be a part of the effort in this way and intend to work my heart out for it!

So I suppose if you do not like politics, particularly Democratic politics, this blog is not for you. 🙂 Though I intend to at least try to make it an interesting and worthwhile read  in general. This blog will invariably often get political, but I intend to show the more personal side of my journey as well.  And there will be pictures…lots of them if the technology cooperates!

So that’s a little bit about me and why I am here, giving at least  four months of my life to the Obama campaign and the Democratic Party–though I personally do not see it as that or even as work most of the time. I am having too much fun!

Feel free to follow along with me on my journey! More soon.

Tara

About lattelib

DC Intern, in town this Fall, living the dream in the Hollywood for Politicos! :) This blog will be a virtual diary of my experience. And there will be lots of pics! "I want to be somebody I want to make a difference"..--"Be Somebody", Paula Cole

2 responses »

  1. awesome blog! Lucky you get to intern in DC. Good luck the rest of your journey

Leave a Reply

